Find out more about intermediate apprenticeships and the industries they are offered in.

Intermediate apprenticeships are Level 2 apprenticeships, and generally considered to be the same level as five GCSE passes.

They are a great way to take the first step in starting your future career, and for those aged 16, they offer an alternative to staying at school and learning in the traditional classroom environment.

As an intermediate apprentice, you will study towards qualifications at the same level as five GCSEs, such as NVQ Level 2, and a knowledge-based qualification such as BTEC Diploma and Certificate, relevant to the sector and job role. You can go on to complete advanced and higher apprenticeships. 

Entry requirements for intermediate apprenticeships vary, with some employers asking for two or more GCSEs, although you may not need any formal qualifications. If you don’t have GCSEs in English and maths, you are usually required to take qualifications in these subjects as part of the apprenticeship.


What’s available?

Intermediate apprenticeships are offered in the widest range of industries including:

  • construction, planning and the built environment
  • leisure, travel and tourism
  • agriculture, horticulture and animal care
  • arts, media and publishing
  • business, administration and law
  • engineering and manufacturing technologies
  • retail and commercial enterprise
  • health, public services and care
  • education and training
  • information and communication technology

See our sectors and industries offering apprenticeships listing to find out what's available. 

To get an idea of what Level 2 apprenticeships are available to study, take a look at the government's A-Z list of apprenticeships. Find out more on the GOV.UK website.