Today, UCAS has confirmed the Tariff point allocation for T Levels.
Posted Tue 20 August 2019 - 10:00

The Tariff is a broad metric based on a qualification's size and grading structure, and uses regulated information to inform its allocation. The Tariff score allocated to T Levels aligns to the standard confirmed by the Department for Education. Further information on this can be found on the Department for Education’s website.

The Tariff points allocated for each overall grade are as follows:

UCAS Tariff points T Level overall grade
168 Distinction*
144 Distinction
120 Merit
96 Pass (C or above on the core)
72 Pass (D or E on the core)


Helen Thorne, UCAS’ Director of External Relations, said: “Universities and colleges make their own admissions decisions and accept a broad range of qualifications for entry to higher education, including vocational and technical qualifications.

“As with all qualifications awarded UCAS tariff points, T levels have been assessed based on their size and grade. Our information and advice for students, their teachers and universities is being updated to help them understand more about the new T Levels and the opportunities they can offer.

“It’s important to remember that not all universities use tariff points in their entry requirements and offers, so we encourage students to check the UCAS website and with universities directly about the qualifications they accept.” 

View further information on the UCAS Tariff points web page.   

UCAS Press Office

01242 545 469


Notes for editors

UCAS, the Universities and Colleges Admissions Service, is an independent charity, and the UK's shared admissions service for higher education. We manage almost three million applications, from around 700,000 people each year, for full-time undergraduate courses at over 380 universities and colleges across the UK.

Related news