Yorkshire and The Humber

Yorkshire and the Humber has history and innovation in abundance. Famed for beautiful countryside, the region inspired a wealth of literary heritage, with links to Tolkien, Plath, Larkin, Brontë and beyond. Major cities – including Bradford, Hull, Leeds, Sheffield and York – boast a range of cultural accolades among them, including two recent UK City of Culture nods. Great nightlife, supportive communities and excellent transport routes make it the perfect hub for studying – no matter your interests or ambitions.

Providers in the Yorkshire and the Humber

City guides

Chat to students powered by Unibuddy UCAS Media Service

Counties of Yorkshire and The Humber

East Riding of Yorkshire

The county is known for its rural delights, like the rolling chalky hills of the Yorkshire Wolds.

Meanwhile, its largest city, Hull, has been a hive of activity, and is a recent ‘UK City of Culture’.

North Yorkshire

North Yorkshire is home to bustling cities and towns, from historic York to spa town Harrogate and spooky Whitby.

Plus two gigantic national parks and a spectacular coastline – perfect if you enjoy exploring the outdoors.

South Yorkshire

You'll have Sheffield's legendary music scene, arts and nightlife to explore – alongside world-class sport and engineering heritage.

And the beautiful and rugged Peak District National Park will keep you inspired and fit, whether you're climbing, cycling or hiking.

West Yorkshire

Cosmopolitan Leeds ticks a lot of boxes, including shopping, nightlife, sport, and music.

Meanwhile, West Yorkshire’s cultural treasures include the first UNESCO City of Film, Bradford, and birthplace of the Brontë sisters, Thornton, and two UK Cities of Culture in Leeds and Bradford.