Royal Navy ratings work onboard ships and submarines.

What does a Royal navy rating do?

As a Royal Navy rating, you could end up working in conflict zones, defending the seas against pirates, or working on humanitarian missions.

There are around 60 different kinds of Royal Navy rating job roles, spread across the six main areas of the Royal Navy:

  • warfare
  • engineering
  • medical
  • chaplaincy
  • logistics
  • aviation

What do I need to do to become a Royal navy rating?

There are no specific qualifications required to be a Royal Navy rating, but you will need to pass the recruiting test – a psychometric test which identifies your strengths and weaknesses, and your fitness for different sorts of training. The Royal Navy offers full training for all routes.

Related skills

  • Communication
  • Discipline
  • Interpersonal skills
  • IT
  • Mechanical knowledge
  • Numeracy
  • Physical fitness
  • Problem solving
  • Teamwork
  • Technical ability

Related subjects

  • Design technology
  • Maths
  • Physical education

Essential qualifications

  • Recruiting test

Where to find out more

Where could I be working?

You will be working on board a ship or submarine. Travel is an essential part of the job, as is having a good pair of sea legs. 

Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0

Related jobs

Job families