Facts about T Levels: what's involved in studying them, how they are assessed, and how long they take to complete.

What are T Levels?

T Levels are new two-year courses equivalent to three A levels. They launched in September 2020 to students in England. This means that after their GCSEs, students now have the option to study either T levels, A levels, a Level 3 apprenticeship or another equivalent qualification. 

Following GCSEs, students have the option to study one of the following pathways:

  • T Levels
  • apprenticeship
  • A levels

T Levels are based on the same standards as apprenticeships, designed by employers, and will offer around 1,800 hours of study over two years. This will include a 45-day work placement, so T Levels will be more suited to students who know what occupation or industry they want to move into.

T Levels include compulsory elements:

  • a technical qualification which includes core skills, theory, and concepts for the industry area
  • specialist occupational skills and knowledge of the career
  • an industry placement with an employer
  • a minimum standard in maths and English, if students haven’t already achieved this

How are T Levels graded?

Students who complete a T Level will receive an overall grade of pass, merit, distinction or distinction* and will be awarded with a nationally recognised certificate showing a breakdown of what they’ve achieved. It will also confirm that a student has met the minimum requirements for maths and English qualifications.

Are T Levels included in the UCAS Tariff?

Students who want to progress into higher education will be able to see how UCAS Tariff points are allocated to their T Level.


UCAS Tariff points     T Level overall grade       A Level
168 Distinction* (A* on the core and distinction in the occupational specialism) AAA*
144 Distinction AAA
120 Merit BBB
96 Pass (C or above on the core) CCC
72 Pass (D or E on the core) DDD

If you do not achieve the full T level qualification, but have achieved either the Core or Occupational Specialism, you may still be accepted by your university or college. Universities and colleges have been provided with a range of information to help understand the skills developed as part of a T level.

What T Level subjects are available?

The first three T Levels started in September 2020 in:

  • digital production, design and development
  • design, surveying and planning for construction
  • education and childcare

From September 2021, T Levels started in:

  • building services engineering for construction
  • digital business services
  • digital support and services
  • health
  • healthcare science
  • onsite construction
  • science

From September 2022, T Levels will start in:

  • accounting
  • design and development for engineering and manufacturing
  • engineering, manufacturing, processing and control
  • finance
  • maintenance, installation and repair for engineering and manufacturing
  • management and administration

From September 2023, T Levels will start in:

  • animal care and management
  • agriculture, land management and production
  • catering
  • craft and design
  • hair, beauty and aesthetics
  • legal services
  • media, broadcast and production

Find out more on the GOV.UK T Levels website.

Taking T Levels this year?

Ofqual's student guide gives you information about this year’s arrangements and explains what support is in place when you're taking exams and assessments.