Facts about Cambridge Technicals: who they are for and what subjects are available.
Relevant to

Cambridge Technicals are a new type of vocational qualification. There's a wide range of subjects to choose from and a choice of units. This means you can specialise in the specific areas of the subject that interest you most.

Who are they for?

Cambridge Technicals are for young people aged 16-19 who have completed their GCSEs/Key Stage 4.

They're a good option if you want to study in a more practical way – providing an understanding of the subject that fits with the needs of the workplace.

What can I study?

You can study at Level 2 and Level 3 and then go on to employment or further education. Alternatively, from Level 3 specifically, you can progress straight to higher education.

Cambridge Technicals are currently available in the following subject areas:

  • Art and design
  • Business
  • Digital media (replaces media)
  • Engineering
  • Health and social care
  • IT
  • Laboratory skills
  • Performing arts
  • Sport and physical activity (replaces sport)

These two exist as 2012 legacy subjects:

  • Media
  • Sport

Cambridge Technicals are offered at level 2 and 3 (some also have 4) – but not in all subjects.

Was this page helpful?

Yes  No